Tennisnerd.net

Prince Phantom 100X Racquet Review

prince phantom 100x 320 review

The 100X is the new Phantom Pro. It comes in two weights and patterns. I deal with both in this Prince Phantom 100X Racquet Review.

The previous Phantom Pro was extremely flexible for a modern frame. This update is a bit stiffer but is still below 60 RA strung, which means comfort won’t be an issue. They have also added the Anti-Torque system (Textreme and Twaron at 10 and 2 in the hoop as well as the shaft). The idea with ATS is to stabilize the frame. The 100X series also comes with the CTS beam, which goes from 18 to 22 mm. So if you like thin-beam racquets that play like more modern frames – check out the 100X series. The 305 is perhaps one of the best racquets I have tried in a long time, and I will tell you why in this Prince Phantom 100X racquet review.

Check out the Prince Phantom line at Tennis Only , Tennis Warehouse  or Tennis Warehouse Europe .

I have reviewed both the 305g 16×18 version and the 320g 18×20 in this review. Below are the strung specs of my racquets:

Head size: 100 sq inches Beamwidth: 18-20.5-22 mm

Strung specs (w overgrip)of the Prince Phantom 100X 16×18 305 : 327g, 31.7 cm balance, 322 SW. Strung specs (w overgrip)  of the Prince Phantom 100X 18×20 320:  345g, 31 cm, 334 SW.

It is clear that the 305 version will be more spin-friendly and easier to use, while the 320 version will be more controlled and demanding.

I tested the racquets with a bunch of different strings: Solinco Confidential , Dunlop Explosive Spin, RS Paris Octagon .

How do they play?

I believe the two different Prince Phantom 100X racquets play exactly as intended. You get more spin with the 305 and more control and stability with the 320. Both racquets are plush, comfortable, and offer a great sense of connection to the ball. Since I am gravitating towards lighter racquets these days, the 305 is my favorite. It is such an impressive racquet that I find it difficult to fault. The spin and power are both there; the feel is excellent, it handles both flat and topspin shots well. It is one of the most complete racquets I have tried in a while. The only issue I had with it is that on some occasions, it felt slightly unstable, but that was very slight, and overall I found the stability impressive for the weight, swing weight, and flex rating.

The 320 also had a great feel. It offered a bit more directional control, a lower launch angle, a slightly more penetrating slice. But it wasn’t as easy to swing, and I like the free spin the 305 version offered me. Since the swing weight of my racquet was 334, it was a bit more challenging to generate enough topspin to achieve control, but for advanced players, this might not be a problem. When I switched between the racquets, I noticed that with the lower launch angle of the 18×20, I was clipping the net a lot more with that frame.

Summary – Pros and Cons

prince phantom 100x 320 review

Let’s look at some pros and cons of the Prince Phantom 100X racquets.

305 16×18 Light and easy to swing Great spin potential but not an annoyingly high launch angle Impressive stability for its weight and flex Very plush and comfortable

320 18×20 More control and stability than the 305 More difficult to swing Lower launch angle

These racquets are both excellent, and I enjoyed this play-test. The Prince Phantom 100X 305 is something so rare as a modern frame that is plush, spin-friendly, and still controlled. It reminds me a bit of the Gravity Tour but offers a bit more comfort and spin. It is simply put a brilliant, all-round racquet. Definitely already on the list for the Gear of the Year 2020.

The 320 is also a nice racquet, but I did struggle a bit more with the weight and string pattern of that frame. You get more things for free with the 305. But if you like a bit more weight on your racquets and like to attack the ball with a flatter game – the 320 would likely be your best bet.

Have you tried the Prince Phantom 100X? What did you think of it? 

Wilson Pro Staff RF97 Autograph – Ring Roll Custom

Head tour xt balls – interview with johannes ager, you may also like, yonex percept 97d review, babolat pure strike 2024 review, head speed mp 2024 review, new head speed 2024, yonex ezone aqua night, abdullah shelbayh’s racquet, iga swiatek’s racquet switch, dunlop cx 2024, racquet questions with tennis files, wilson ultra pro 16×19 review, 65 comments.

Awesome review, I’ve been waiting to pull the trigger on getting the 305 until I saw another article to confirm Tennis Warehouse’s outstanding reviews. I really appreciate your work and dedication to these great reviews!

Side note, I’m an American that is going to be moving to Stockholm fairly soon. Any specific suggestions for tennis clubs/leagues? Around 4.5+ level.

Thanks. The best idea is to join a club and start asking about their local leagues and tournaments there. I lived in Stockholm for 9 months, but just as I was about to leave I was asked to join the league team as there is usually a waiting list for the bigger clubs. I joined SALK and their facilities and atmosphere is very nice: https://salk.se/english/

How does the 305 compare with Clash tour (Clash pro)?

A more connected feel, the Clash is very muted. It is also a bit faster through the air thanks to the thinner beam design.

I purchased the Phantom 100x 305 when it first came out. It is very user friendly due to the 100 sq inch head, lower SW and open 16 x 18 pattern. I added 2 grams of lead at 12 to add some plow. The 100x 305 has a nice balance of power and control, very spin and arm friendly. I thought it might have been a little string sensitive but I may have strung it at too high of tension at 54/53 with Gosen Micro 16. Due to cooler conditions should have strung it 2 or 3lbs lower which would improve the feel. I am also currently using the Blade v7 98 16 x 19 which is a bit more demanding but prefer the feel of the Blade.

For match play without a doubt would prefer to use the 100x 305 as you get easier power and spin over the Blade. When the weather warms up will strongly considering making a switch to the Prince frame.

I feel exactly the same about the 16×18 version – very connected to the ball and plays like a pillow on my hand yet producing amazing power still!

Out of curiosity, what tension did you use on your 305g? I strung it at 50lbs on prokennex IQ Hexa but it was a bit too powerful so I increased to 53lbs.

How would you compare the Wilson Ultra Tour with the 100x 305?

The 100X gives you easier access to spin and power and a bigger sweet spot. The Ultra gives you better control.

How does it compare with Angell TC101 you just reviewed? Seems like both are very comparable except the size of sweet zone

It feels faster through the air and a bit plusher.

How is the 100X 305 for a player who plays mostly flat?

I would probably go for the 100X 18×20 or the Prince Phantom 97P if you are a flat hitter.

Thank you for the review! I have been playing with Yonnex Ai100 since past few years and has served me well, though, lately I feel I may have to move to something different. Reason is that two of my tennis buddies/opponents have suddenly moved from average frames to RF97 autograph. Suddenly, playing with them now, feels like the RF is giving them more ease of play, they are able to touch my shots and keep the ball in play more, their slices are better now and if I hit a poor/slow shot, they are able to counter that with a heavy fast shot! We play mostly doubles, so its an advantage for them to not get too bogged down by the RF97A weight during the doubles game.

My options are: 1) move to RF97A as well – I did do a trial of RF97A and felt that RF due to its weight/heft gives you some support to counter fast shots easily but just pointing and touch and using the opponents power. At net also due to its heft, its easy to volley. The issues, I realized is that, I am unable to hit top spin like I did with Ai100. It feels like with this stick its more of playing flat. Should I then consider this option, and give it time and hope that my game will improve and adjust to RF97A? 2) move to something like Head Gravity 360+ pro – Your and TW reviews for this racquet are good and enjoyed them. But not sure if this one is a right one to gravitate to from Ai100 to counter RF97A opponents. 3) move to Prince 100X 305 – Same as gravity pro, reviews for this racquet is great from you and TW. Should I move to this racquet or 1 or 2 option s above?

Other racquets I am thinking about – Tecnifibre TF40 305, Dunlop SX 300 Tour, extended length racquets like Yonnex Ezone 98+/100+

Any pointers or words of wisdom are welcome. Thank you!

I offer a racquet consultation service if you want more detailed advice, but I would generally not recommend the RF97 Autograph unless you are a very advanced player. In my opinion, it is not really fast enough for doubles. I would recommend you to try the Prince 100X. The Gravity Pro is a bit more demanding but also better for a flatter game style.

For your review seems similar to the Pro Kennex Ki+Q Tour Pro 315 (2019). Another very good frame and underrated.

The ProKennex is under-rated for sure, this one feels a bit more connected to the ball.

Great review and hitting; like those slice forehands! Regarding the difference in launch angles and control, I think a new metric might be useful: as well as the pattern, a measure of the typical cell size at the sweet-spot could help, since some patterns are open and others more dense. As far as I can tell, sweet-spots are about the size of a ball or two (at most) in the middle of the frame, so measuring the typical gap between strings at that point (and if they are square or rectangular) might tell a lot about the launch/control features. For example, I noted that my 6.1 95S has 0.85×1.3cm rectangular cells in the sweet-spot (good for spin), whereas my 6.1 95L has 1cmx1cm square cells (good for control). It would be interesting to know the difference between the sweet-spot cell sizes between these two Prince rackets, since they are quite different patterns, and if that directly links to launch/control.

When will you be reviewing the new Phantom 100P? I see it and the new 93P in the picture with the other two 100X’s. I am curious if the new 93P, 93P 14×18, and 100P are indeed improvements on the original versions. Thanks!

It should be ready in about two weeks. I can already say that there are definite improvements in feel and stability.

Talking about Prince, Lucas Pouille just switched to Babolat. Seems that Isner is now the only pro on ATP tour with a Prince racquet.

Yeah, I saw that! I mainly think he needs a change because his talent deserves better results. We will see how it goes!

I’m currently using the DR98, but am curious to know how you think the 100x 305 compares to the k7 red especially in terms of power and comfort/feel?

Hi, The 100X feels is a bit more powerful and stable than the K7 Red. Both offer great comfort, but I am more connected to the 100X. Cheers / J

Hi Jonas, Thanks for doing this site, it led me to demoing rackets from my local hsop and ending up buying the other weekthe wilson clash 100 tour. wonderful.

reading this review, please can you say how this PRINCE PHANTOM 100X compares to the PRINCE TEXTREME TOUR 100 310. I thought it odd that was missing

Hi Gareth, I appreciate the comment. Yeah, I forgot to add a comparison between the two. The Phantom 100X is faster through the air and more spin-friendly. The feel is also slightly plusher. Cheers / Jonas

Hi, would you say the phantom 100x is noticeably more powerful and comfortable than the tour 100 310?

Great review. How would you compare it to the DR98 ? Clash 98 ? Blade V7 ? Gravity ? Thanks

Great job running this website and the reviews. How would you compare Phantom 93P and Phantom 100X as a good replacement for Pro Staff 90 BLX. Which one has more control and is more headlight (to aid better swing) ?

Thanks. If you want something similar to the 90 BLX – you should go for the 93P. It is easier to swing and offers better control.

Hi Jonas ! Great review as always . The DR98 was great but killed my wrist, how would you compare it to this new phantom 100x (305g) ? (And is it more forgiving and spinning ?)

Hi, Yes, the Phantom 100X is definitely more forgiving. The spin potential is about the same.

Cheers / Jonas

Thanx a lot for your answer Jonas. Cheers and best for you.

Good stuff, looking forward to your verdict on the 100P

Hello, how do you find the 305 on flat or poorly covered closures? I do not speak of playing only flat but only in closing when I enter the field to close the point! Do you need coverage?

Sorry, I don’t understand the question? Please write in your original language and I will figure it out.

ciao volevo sapere come si comporta la 305 sui colpi di chiusura piatti o poco coperti di spin! io non gioco piatto però quando entro in campo dopo la costruzione del punto cerco la botta piatta di chiusura! volevo sapere se è un telaio da spingere per farlo rendere anche a regimi piu bassi ! grazie

Hi Jonas, great reviews as usually! How did the Solinco confidential workout with the Phantom 100x? What do you think about Hyper G instead of confidential? Thanks!

Hi Jonas, Started to follow your YouTube channel a while ago, it’s so hard to find good reviews these days, most have commercial influence, thus trying to push a certain racket model instead of an unbiased review and compare. Please keep up the work you are doing! I am a recreational tennis player around 4.5 lvl, in a search of a bit easier to handle stick, with good amount of free power, but still with some control and comfort on the arm. Seems like Prince Phantom 100x and HEAD Graphene 360+ Speed MP , you recently reviewed, may fit my needs, but I cant get to final decision. How do they compare in terms of power, control and comfort ? The thin-beam and 321 SW of the Phantom 100x seem a bit concerning regarding the ability to generate some free power … Thanks in advance!

Hi Aivars, Thanks!

I would say that the Speed MP gives you a bit more free power and is a bit easier to use. Control is about the same for both racquets, but the Phantom wins the comfort category (the Speed is not harsh though).

I hope this helps. The Phantom is a plush racquet, where the Speed is more in between plush and crisp.

Regards / J

Hi Jonas, I’m currently using a Dunlop Srixon CX 200 Tour 16×19, weighted to 334g w/overgrip & 4g lead @3, 9, &12. I love it from all areas of the court, but want to have a racquet with a little more forgiveness but similar control. So far it’s between this Phantom 100x 305g, the Diadem Elevate Tour 98, and the Yonex Vcore Pro 97 310g. Can you compare these three in terms of power, control, spin/launch angle, and feel?

Recently started watching your videos and really appreciate the detail / insights you give! Keep up the great work!

My question is, how much of a difference is there between the 100x 305 and the Pure Strike 16×19 3rd Gen?

I was gifted the Wilson Pro Staff 95S a few years ago. I feel the time is now to make a change to something that offers more power without losing the control and comfort I have with the 95S. What are your thoughts?

How does the 305g version compare with your customized Head Gravity MP? Do you prefere the Gravity MP over the Gravity Tour? cheers!

Could you give me a hand?

Im an intermediate player using a Blade 16×19 v7, i find it hard sometimes to get my shots deep when playing from full court and have to place some effort on it. I like the control i get at volleys and shots inside court.

Im looking for a bit easier racquet to play with.

Do you think the 100x 305, would be easier for me? Im also looking at the Speed 360+ mp, but im not sure which one will fit better.

Thank you !!!!

Hi Daniel, both the Phantom 100X 305 and the Speed MP are easier to use. The best is to demo, but I would go with the Speed MP. If you are still unsure I would recommend getting a consultation. Cheers / J

I just ordered this racket strung with triax 17@24kg. As I have hyperflexible elbows I did not want run the risk yet with poly. The trial racket i tested was strung with poly but at quite al low tension I believe (could have been the flex of the racket). No elbow issues. What is your advise wrt tension for poly and multi in this racket ? As the triax is relatively stiff i did not want to string too high. And in general, what is your advice with strings and tension in flexible verses stiff rackets ?

How did you like the Confidential string in this racquet and would you recommend it for this racquet? Thanks for all the reviews you are doing an awesome job!

I think it worked really well – I can definitely recommend it. Thanks.

How would you compare it to the Prince Textreme tour 100 (310)? In terms of Spin, power, feel, control, launch angle….

and which one would you prefer personally and which one for baseline topspin hitting on clay? – Phantom 100p, Phantom 100x, Textreme Tour 100 310 or 100p? Really appreciate your estimation.

Hi, your reviews are so so helpful. It is precise, to the point, and consistently good. I wish my tennis was like that! My question: I use the Phantom Pro 100 (16×18). But I am a more flat hitter and want more control. So I am considering the Prince Tour 100p (18×20). Is that due for an update this year – I don’t want to buy it just weeks/months before the new one comes out. Do you have any information on that? Either I get that or the Phantom 100x (18×20). How do these two compare?

Thanks so much for your input.

Hi Arun, thanks! Yes, it is due an update :) The Phantom 100X 18×20 I found quite demanding although it does have a flat trajectory, I prefer the Pro 100. Or actually, my favorite is the Phantom 100P. Excellent racquet! Try that one if you can demo it.

Hi TN, excellent review and content. I think our styles have a lot in common.

I’m curious to know if you would still recommend the Prince Phantom 100x 305 a year after the review? If so, could you recommend a well balanced and durable string to pair it with?

Thanks, Kamaran (London)

Do you test also the O3 model of 100X? I test this model and not the standard, from your review and my test the two sticks seems very similar. Just on serve i think the O3 don’t give you enough power on flat and not very killer Stick on the net. What do you think about the difference with and without O3. Thankd

Hi. Is the prince 100x 305, more control than Clash pro? What is the main diferences in this 2? I live in MEXICO City using Clash pro and I really want to try prince, but they dont sell in Mex. So I have to buy it in eBay for to try. So, it really helps if you tell me diferences and if it works or they are very similar for to spend in that. Thanks very much

Hi Luis, yes, it’s low-powered and offers more control. It’s also not quite as stable but has a more predictable stringbed.

Hello TN, just wondering how the 100X 305 compares with the T-Fight 305? I’m currently playing with the Yonex Ezone 100 and am looking for something more maneuverable at the net. Many thanks.

Hey, these are very different racquets. The Tfight offers plow-through, control and a heavy swing weight. The 100X is a more spin-friendly and maneuverable racquet. For netplay, I’d take the Tfight. Cheers / J

Hi TN, thanks for your prompt response. To be clear, I was referring to T-Fight 305 RS. I recall you did a video about the 300 RS some time back and its review was good (even better than the 305 RS) – it’s like a good all-rounder and excels at the net.

Hi thanks for your review! I am wondering the launch angle of 100X 305 will it be very high?

Hey, I don’t think it’s too high, it’s quite controllable.

Hi, This was the best review i found on this Prince 100x 305g, unfortonatly i live in Portugal and i cant get one to playtest, buying a racket without testing before is not the ideal… I have benn playing with the Volkl V-sesnse v1 pro since 2018 , they are now in theyr last legs and i realy need to find a new racket, i have tried the Head Gravity Tour, but the feel was a bit to muted, the same thing happended wen i tried the Wilson clash… Do you know if the feel in this Prince 100x 305g is also like that? Do you have any other recomendation? (I can playstest almost all the brands big brands in Portugal, but not Prince…) Thank you!

The Prince has a cleaner response but a lot of flex, so if that is not your cup of tea, you might want to go for something with more feedback.

Hello, My level is 4.0 and my game is focused on volley serves, reflex shots and touch, with a very good backhand chop very low for the chip and charge. I have been playing for more than 10 years with the Head Speed ??MP Youtek IG. With its 300 grams, its balance at 32 cm unstrung, its ultra-maneuverable side (inertia / swingweight of 308!) and its great flexibility (60 Ra), it is ideal for my game. I love its prolonged contact with the ball ! But these characteristics cannot be found elsewhere and I cannot find any racquet with which I feel so good and natural, especially at net… I have nevertheless tried Clash, Blade, Gravity, Vcore 97… I have no way of give the Phantom 100X a try, but according to tests and reviews, it seems to be suitable. What do you think ? In your opinion, which one should I go for, the 290 or the 305? Thank you for your help ;-)

Hi Olivier, I have a consultation service if you want in-depth assistance, but based on what you write, I would go for the 305. Cheers / Jonas

I picked up a Phantom 100X in the 2023 January sales (UK), strung it with Hyper G 1.10mm at 48lbs and thought I had finally found my perfect racket but after a week and a few practice sessions paint is flaking off around the grommet holes in the upper hoop and one grommet has broken causing excess vibrations. I realise some people aren’t bothered about cosmetics but for this to happen after one week is concerning. Initially I was planning to touch up the chips and replace the grommets but then found that they’re not in stock with any of the major UK/EU retailers (one said they contacted Prince UK who told them that they’ve never been available in the UK). I also contacted tennis warehouse USA who said they don’t have any but we’re expecting some in March. Sadly I’m now in the process of returning this racket. This could be an issue for others like me who like to restring often.

Leave a Comment

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

Please wait while you are redirected to the right page...

Talk Tennis

  • Search forums
  • Tennis Equipment

Prince Phantom 100X

  • Thread starter tlm
  • Start date Apr 27, 2021

tlm

  • Apr 27, 2021

I’ve been demoing the Phantom 100X 305 and 290 and feel these rackets are really impressive. I like both but have been playing better with the 290. Just wondering how many others have tried these rackets? They definitely have a unique feel and are extremely comfortable. I can definitely feel the flex when hitting which some might not care for, but I get really good spin and excellent control with the Phantom and still plenty of power. I have been demoing a bunch of rackets the last few months and maybe I’m getting old but lately I prefer rackets right at or just under 11 ounces. I’m using the Vcore 98L which I do like, also have demoed the Blade 100L V7 which plays very well and so it’s between the Phantom and the blade.  

ChanterRacquet

Professional.

Yes on the just under 11 oz front, 315ish swingweight. For me blade 104 v7 and cx200 os, though if usps can get their act together I’ll have a 290 100x sometime this week. I’m sticking to mostly low RA frames.  

ChanterRacquet said: Yes on the just under 11 oz front, 315ish swingweight. For me blade 104 v7 and cx200 os, though if usps can get their act together I’ll have a 290 100x sometime this week. I’m sticking to mostly low RA frames. Click to expand...

Papa Mango

I used to play with the Phantom Pro 100 18x20, but got rid of them because my serve isn't what it used to be and they gave no help. Going to demo the 18x20 Phantom X. I little heavier than the other Phantom Xs, but they are indeed interesting frames.  

Dartagnan64

Dartagnan64

  • Apr 28, 2021

I'm currently using the Phantom 107G. Bit more power than my 100 O3 Phantom but equal spin. Not as precise as my 100 18x20 but more forgiving and better spin and power. Personally I like all the Phantoms for their comfort but in the end a little more real estate is better for my presbyopia. I'm learning that the reason seniors start gravitating to large frame sizes is clearly as much a vision issue as a power issue.  

Dartagnan64 said: I'm currently using the Phantom 107G. Bit more power than my 100 O3 Phantom but equal spin. Not as precise as my 100 18x20 but more forgiving and better spin and power. Personally I like all the Phantoms for their comfort but in the end a little more real estate is better for my presbyopia. I'm learning that the reason seniors start gravitating to large frame sizes is clearly as much a vision issue as a power issue. Click to expand...

I'm currently using a Phantom Pro 100 16x18 and it's a beautiful frame to play with. Comfort, spin and sufficient power and although my bespectacled eyes are not what they were, the big sweetspot combined with the ultra thin profile giving superb manoeuverabilty helps me make pretty clean contact. Even though the 100x 305 can be obtained at very attractive prices now, I can't find a valid reason to leave the Pro 100. Plus there are not many better looking racquets out there than the original Phantom line!  

aussie said: I'm currently using a Phantom Pro 100 16x18 and it's a beautiful frame to play with. Comfort, spin and sufficient power and although my bespectacled eyes are not what they were, the big sweetspot combined with the ultra thin profile giving superb manoeuverabilty helps me make pretty clean contact. Even though the 100x 305 can be obtained at very attractive prices now, I can't find a valid reason to leave the Pro 100. Plus there are not many better looking racquets out there than the original Phantom line! Click to expand...
tlm said: My vision is still pretty good so that’s not an issue but I love the comfort that these frames have. I’m going with the 100X 290, just love the way this frame plays. It gives great spin and control with a very unique feel. I haven’t seen many rackets that have such a thin beam with a light weight. I feel I can use about any string even at higher tensions without having arm problems. Click to expand...
  • Apr 29, 2021
Dartagnan64 said: Its doubles where the vision thing gets me. volleying takes some good vision and quick hands and the larger real estate makes a difference. If I was going to counter punch all day, a 98 would be more than enough. Click to expand...
Papa Mango said: Good choice. Just put a little bit of weight at 10/2 (not much, couple of grams is good) and little to counterbalance in the handle and enjoy the BOOM! Having seen your vids, I think the frame will suit you well. It's a great counterpunching racket IMHO. You can actually string quite low in this frame too without losing much if any control. I am hitting with gut/poly in the low 40's and the whatever little control issues I have is not because of the racket. Click to expand...

rv75

How does the 290 compare to the regular Clash 100? I switched to it after a really bad case of GE. I enjoy the Clash but keep wondering if a stick with an even string bed would be more predictable. I’m a self rated 3.5 that plays and easily hangs with 4.0 players. Any other racquets I should be considering?  

rv75 said: How does the 290 compare to the regular Clash 100? I switched to it after a really bad case of GE. I enjoy the Clash but keep wondering if a stick with an even string bed would be more predictable. I’m a self rated 3.5 that plays and easily hangs with 4.0 players. Any other racquets I should be considering? Click to expand...

Got the 290 out today again but hittin groundies instead of serves. Bought used, the syn guts in there are on their way out so it’s lacking a little pop right now, though serves are still great. I’m gonna throw some Volkl Cyclone Tour 16g in there next, open it up with some pop and give that puppy some spin. Really liked the arm comfort, easy swinging. On my first 2 shots I thought I felt the flutter that people talk about needing to add weight to fix but then it went away. The feel/touch overall is A LOT like a blade 104 v7, just in a smaller headsize and 27”. Which might be a good thing if you’re trying to keep SW below the blade’s 320. My sw came in at 310. I thought it felt quite solid considering! The string density between the 100X and blade 104 actually almost exactly overlap if you ignore the bottom, 19th cross on the blade. Anyways, looking forward to some punchier strings but a good experience even with syn gut at 45 lbs, haha.  

ChanterRacquet said: Got the 290 out today again but hittin groundies instead of serves. Bought used, the syn guts in there are on their way out so it’s lacking a little pop right now, though serves are still great. I’m gonna throw some Volkl Cyclone Tour 16g in there next, open it up with some pop and give that puppy some spin. Really liked the arm comfort, easy swinging. On my first 2 shots I thought I felt the flutter that people talk about needing to add weight to fix but then it went away. The feel/touch overall is A LOT like a blade 104 v7, just in a smaller headsize and 27”. Which might be a good thing if you’re trying to keep SW below the blade’s 320. My sw came in at 310. I thought it felt quite solid considering! The string density between the 100X and blade 104 actually almost exactly overlap if you ignore the bottom, 19th cross on the blade. Anyways, looking forward to some punchier strings but a good experience even with syn gut at 45 lbs, haha. Click to expand...
  • Apr 30, 2021
aussie said: Even though the 100x 305 can be obtained at very attractive prices now, I can't find a valid reason to leave the Pro 100. Plus there are not many better looking racquets out there than the original Phantom line! Click to expand...
  • May 1, 2021
brunomartorelli said: Where?! Been tracking them here in TW and it's been at $200 since November.. Click to expand...
  • May 3, 2021
realplayer said: Curious to see a comparison between your Dunlop 200 cx os and the Phantom 100x in all departments. Click to expand...
  • May 4, 2021

Can anyone comment on comfort level between 305x and Textreme Tour 310? I'm guessing 305 is more comfortable because of stiffness rating, but not sure if that is really the only factor. Thanks  

gburgh said: Can anyone comment on comfort level between 305x and Textreme Tour 310? Click to expand...
ChanterRacquet said: Didn’t want to leave you hanging, just waiting on strings to come in the mail! I am playing the best tennis I ever have with the cx200 OS strung with volkl cyclone tour so I am curious how much of that is string and will transfer to the 100x. Slices are wicked good with the cx OS/VCT and maneuverability which helps on return is too easy. Anyways...I will compare once I’m comparing racquets with the same string. Click to expand...

I bought a couple 305x's about a month ago and I've been slowly getting used to playing with them. I find I'm able to swing slower and later than I could before while still generating the same depth/pace, so I've definitely had to adjust my timing to keep from hitting long. I have it leaded up on the handle and the top of the hoop to add about 12g of weight, and I'm still experimenting with the optimum weight/stringing. I like the thinner beam and the maneuverability this racquet provides, especially on overheads. For reference, I had been playing with a Prince TT Bandit for about a decade and my change of pace stick has been a Warrior 107 for about the last four years. After being told my cracked/warped circa 2011 Prince TT had been "strung for the final time" I started looking at other options  

gburgh said: Can anyone comment on comfort level between 305x and Textreme Tour 310? I'm guessing 305 is more comfortable because of stiffness rating, but not sure if that is really the only factor. Thanks Click to expand...
realplayer said: No, you're right. There are many factors and stiffness is only measured in one location. You also have dynamic stiffness which says more about comfort. Click to expand...

The more I use the Phantom 100X 290 the more I like it, definitely a unique frame. I’ve been demoing a lot of rackets for the last 3 months and I have settled on the Phantom.  

tlm said: The more I use the Phantom 100X 290 the more I like it, definitely a unique frame. I’ve been demoing a lot of rackets for the last 3 months and I have settled on the Phantom. Click to expand...

loosegroove

loosegroove

Hall of fame.

rv75 said: I’m getting a used 100x 305. Hope I’m not biting more than I can chew. I’m currently playing with the Clash 100 and want more predictability and stability Click to expand...
tlm said: Thats a good choice the Phantom will have better control than the Clash, I was using the Clash for the last year and did like it but was not consistent enough for me. I demoed both the Phantom 100X 305 and the 290 and liked both, but in the last few years I’ve found I play better with a lighter racket. But I could have went with the 305 as well but just figured I can always lead up the 290 if more weight is needed. Click to expand...
Dartagnan64 said: All my Phantoms seemed to do a bit better with a little lead at 12 Oclock. Only the 93P seemed to be perfect in stock form. Right now the 107G is my current love. It's a little less precise than the 100P, 100X models but has more pop, more spin, more forgiveness with all the feel. Really nice frame for a doubles player whose reflexes are starting to fail. Click to expand...

The newer phantoms already have twaron ATS at 10 and 2 increasing the stability. 12 o’clock lead moves the sweet spot a little closer to that stable zone.  

Dartagnan64 said: The newer phantoms already have twaron ATS at 10 and 2 increasing the stability. 12 o’clock lead moves the sweet spot a little closer to that stable zone. Click to expand...

Crocodile

  • May 5, 2021

Does anyone know what the future will be for the whole Phantom line? There are so many versions to choose from and they are very comfortable frames. The 100X is a bit light for myself but I am sure many should like it.  

Crocodile said: Does anyone know what the future will be for the whole Phantom line? There are so many versions to choose from and they are very comfortable frames. The 100X is a bit light for myself but I am sure many should like it. Click to expand...

Prince Phantom 100X 18x20 Racquet | Tennis Only

www.tennisonly.com.au

tlm said: Well that is good to know that the new models are more stable. Click to expand...
  • May 8, 2021
realplayer said: Very interested in the Phantom 100x and Dunlop cx 200 os. Click to expand...

HitMoreBHs

  • May 9, 2021
ChanterRacquet said: I did get cycline tour for 100x but they’re at about 10 lbs higher than the cx OS so still not a direct comparison. Quick comparison: phantom is softer - no elbow pain even with higher tension. I’m getting a slight burning sensation with the cx os even at 40 lbs with the cyclone tour. 100x less innate pop but again that could be higher tension talking. My next step is to throw some multi something in the cx os and see if what little elbow pain exists goes away. I’ve played some great tennis with the cx os. No negatives that I have yet to encounter. Volleys, serves, ground strokes. Playing a guy I ised to lose 2-6 0-6 with my PStrike 18x20 with the cx os last outing was 7-6 5-7 within a 3 week time span just that much more user friendly. I’m looking forward to seeing how a multi plays in it. I played some consistent tennis with the 100x today. Popped a nxt main on my blade so switched to the cx os for a sec but a few ball launches and immediate elbow soreness had me grab the 100x -> Not powerful tennis, but easily consistent. Shop already got my blade 104 v7 up with cyclone tour today so I look forward to getting that one out tomorrow. It might be between the cx os and 100x; blade 14 v7 = 100x flex/comfort + cx os power, but the 5-10 points higher swingweight is noticeable when reaching for shots, harder to wrist it. More to come! Click to expand...
realplayer said: If you cut off the extra half inch off the blade. You will significantly lower the swingweight and fix the arm problems you experience with the cx 200 os. Anyway, I don't have armproblems so it will between the 100x and Dunlop 200 cx os. Click to expand...

liftordie

  • Oct 7, 2021

prince phantom 100x 320 review

  • Oct 9, 2021

The Prince 290g 100sq in racquets are the most under-rated racquets out there in my opinion.  

WYK said: The Prince 290g 100sq in racquets are the most under-rated racquets out there in my opinion. Click to expand...
  • Oct 10, 2021
tata said: I really wish they make something sub 100 head in a 290 weight class. Agree their 290 100 sqin frames are really solid offerings. I'm craving something in the 97 to 98 head in a 290 weight class. Click to expand...

tennis347

I just bought a 100x 305 to customize to my liking as I sold my Phantom 100P frames as the sw was getting too demanding. I had one in the past but didn't spend enough time with it and used too high of a string tension. I will report back later in the week.  

tennis347 said: I just bought a 100x 305 to customize to my liking as I sold my Phantom 100P frames as the sw was getting too demanding. I had one in the past but didn't spend enough time with it and used too high of a string tension. I will report back later in the week. Click to expand...

Similar threads

  • Jul 18, 2021

WYK

  • Aestheticsaboveallelse
  • Aug 31, 2022

AggieJason

  • Jan 22, 2018

TripleB

  • Jun 29, 2020

rv75

  • Members Login
  • prince phantom 100x 18 x 20 2020 racket review

Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 (2020) Racket Review

The Prince Phantom range is one we love to recommend to all sorts of players so we were excited to get our hands on this Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20.

We found the previous version of the Phantom Pro 100 18 x 20 to be really strong in all areas of the court, so we were hoping it would be more of the same with this latest release.

Phantoms always do a great job of being arm friendly and offering plenty of feel, and with this 18 x 20 string pattern, you’ve got the added bonus of great control.

Prince has also added a slightly thicker beam to give a little bit more stability, which should give players some more pop.

Custom Fittings

Discover your perfect racket and string combo!

With a strung weight of 335g, this stick is perfectly weighted to play some strong tennis, combining the performance of the heavier rackets with the maneuverability the lighter weight gives you.

Add to this the flexible feel of the racket, and you’ve got something that’s really easy on your arms and wrists, and can keep you swinging through the ball even in those long, tough matches.

We took this playtest with Wilson Revolve strung at 50lbs ,adding to the control and spin potential of this stick.

To get your ideal string setup check out Tom’s Tennis String Tension Guide .

As ever with a new update of a racket we love, we were a little bit anxious for this playtest.

Would the Prince Phantom 100X live up to our lofty expectations, or would we be left disappointed?

Groundstrokes

8 out of 10

How you feel about the new version is probably going to come down to your feelings about 18 x 20 string pattern rackets.

If you’re a devout 18 x 20 string pattern user who craves control over everything else, then you might be a little bit disappointed with this new version.

On the other hand, if you’re someone who is in the middle of 16 x 19 and 18 x 20 and likes control, but still with a bit of pop then the the Phantom 100x is going to be right up your alley.

For me, I fall into the category of devout 18 x 20 user, and while I still enjoyed the racket, I much preferred the older version.

I think it’s the slightly beefier beam that made the difference. It just doesn’t quite have the same levels of feel and control which took a little something away from my game.

What you do get in place of the control is a little more easy power, which other players will enjoy.

While it’s still by no means a power racket, it does give you a little something extra, which could open it up for players who seek control, but still with that little bit of pop.

If you are that kind of player, then you’re going to benefit from the renowned comfort of Phantom rackets, and a racket that’s nice and easy to play with.

For its weight, it’s not the most stable racket out there, but perhaps that’s a small sacrifice in order to get that flexi, comfortable hit and some solid feel on the ball.

We gave the Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 an 8 out of 10 for groundstrokes, a good score, but not quite as good as the old version.

The old Phantom 100 18 x 20 was exceptional at the net, whereas I would say this new version is good.

Again, the changes in the frame have just taken away a bit of control and you can see the difference when it comes to the volleys.

I wouldn’t say the 100x is bad at the net by any means, it’s just not quite as good as the old version.

It’s still got pretty good control, and is fast and comfortable through the swings, which makes it a useful weapon for both singles and doubles.

One of the things I love about these Phantoms is that you always know you’re going to get something that’s comfortable and easy to play with.

When you turn up at the net, it’s easy to get the racket into position, and even when you mistime it, you’re still not going to suffer from bad vibrations.

I volleyed pretty well throughout this playtest, and wasn’t worried about attacking the net.

I felt confident that the Phantom 100x could handle whatever was thrown at me, and that was normally the case.

Overall, an 8 out of 10 at the net is a good score, and it’s certainly not an area where the Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 lets itself down.

8.5 out of 10

If there was one area where we preferred the new version then it was on the serve, where the extra pop really made a difference.

The old version did have a tendency to feel a little bit underpowered on the serve, but the new stick allows you to turn your racket head speed into good power.

You won’t struggle to create that racket head speed because this stick moves nicely through the air, helping you extract the most from your serve.

On the second serve, the control kicks in, allowing you to be aggressive but still get plenty of consistency.

We all found we put in good serving performances with this stick, particularly on the second serve, where we all felt particularly confident.

There wasn’t too much more you could ask for from this racket on serve, and it helped us win a lot of service games.

We gave the Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 an 8.5 out of 10.

This Phantom has a great setup for the return, combining speed with the control of the 18 x 20 string pattern.

It’s ideal for the short swings you need when returning a big first serve but also offers a little bit of pop for when you want to step into the second serve return.

The return is one of those shots you never seem to practice that much, and so, you don’t spend as much time evaluating a racket in this area, but it’s vitally important.

If you don’t get on with a racket on the return it can make your life so much more difficult, so it’s important to find one you gel with.

The Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 was one of those rackets I gelled nicely with on the return, and we gave it an 8 out of 10.

All in all, the Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 is a very good racket, even if we might have slightly preferred the old version.

It’s great for players who want a comfortable, maneuverable racket with an emphasis on control.

With a little bit more pop than some other 18 x 20 rackets, it’s one that people who are somewhere between the 16 x 19 pattern and the 18 x 20 can find a good balance.

For a racket around 330g, it’s very easy to play with and this translates into a good blend of control, spin, and power from the back of the court.

It’s got plenty of feel, which combined with the control allows you to target pinpoint spots on the court to get your opponent moving side to side.

When you follow the ball into the net, the good performance continues and you won’t find this stick lacking in the volleying department.

Again, the comfort and feel shines through, helping you to effortlessly guide the ball back into court.

The serve was the main area where we preferred the new racket to the old one, with the extra bit of pop giving it more potential.

Throughout the playtest, we got a picture of a racket that is well rounded, and that will suit a lot of players.

We gave the Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 an 8 out of 10.

Is This Racket Right For Your Game? Find Out With a Custom Fitting!
Get the Prince Phantom 100X 18 x 20 for the Best Price from RacquetGuys!

41 Lessons · $49.00

Doubles Tactics

Supercharge Your Doubles With TheTennisBros.com

10 Lessons · $35.00

The Art of Volleying

Become clinical at the net with our in depth volleying walkthroughs!

35 Lessons · $49.00

Singles Tactics

Outsmart your opponent with superior tactics! Our strategies can be quickly implemented for instant results!

We save you time and money by doing the painful research process for you!

No more frustration in your game, due to your equipment failing you!

Start playing the best tennis of your life and win more matches!

Get Our Free Guide to Supercharging Your Tennis Equipment!

Sign up to receive your Free Guide to Supercharging Your Tennis Equipment , straight to your inbox!

Explore more

Aug 31, 2023 • Babolat Dunlop Head Prince Wilson Yonex

Men’s vs Women’s Tennis Rackets: What’s the Difference?

Is there really a difference between men’s and women’s rackets? This is a commonly asked question that doesn’t have a very clear answer. Whilst there aren’t specific rackets that are designed for men or women tennis players, there are some trends in both the men’s and women’s games that make…

Feb 23, 2023 • Prince Wilson

Prince Vs Wilson: Tennis Racket and Equipment Review (2023)

Trying to compare Prince vs Wilson rackets? Choosing the right racket can make a big difference to your game, so we’ve researched all of Prince and Wilson’s rackets to give you the complete guide. Here’s our in-depth guide to Prince vs Wilson.

  • Shop by Brand
  • Tennis Racquets
  • Junior Racquets
  • Vintage Racquets
  • Used Racquets
  • Pickleball Paddles
  • Padel Racquets
  • Demo Program
  • Trade In Program
  • Racquet Matching & Customization
  • Articles And Reviews
  • Racquet Help
  • Racquet Finder
  • Racquet Reviews
  • Junior Store
  • Men's Apparel
  • Aceing Autism
  • Ace the Moon
  • Flow Society
  • Le Coq Sportif
  • New Balance
  • NK Foundation
  • Original Penguin
  • Sergio Tacchini
  • Tennis Warehouse
  • Travis Mathew
  • Under Armour
  • New Arrivals
  • Shop by Type
  • Short Sleeve
  • Long Sleeve
  • Compression
  • Men's Socks
  • Women's Apparel
  • Lucky in Love
  • Alabama Girl Hats
  • Ame & Lulu
  • Bird & Vine
  • BlueFish Sport
  • Cross Court
  • Denise Cronwall
  • FP Movement
  • Yaffa Sun Protection
  • Sports Bras
  • UV Protection
  • Women's Socks
  • Boy's Apparel
  • Girl's Apparel
  • Hats & Visors
  • Head & Wristbands
  • Team Orders
  • Men's Shoes
  • Lightweight
  • Women's Shoes
  • Shoe Reviews
  • Tennis Balls
  • Tennis Bags
  • 3 Pack Bags
  • 6 Pack Bags
  • 8-12+ Pack Bags
  • Duffle Bags
  • Bag Accessories
  • Court Couture
  • Maggie Mather
  • Strings Sets & Reels
  • String Reels
  • Multifilament
  • Natural Gut
  • Synthetic Gut
  • Alpha & RAB
  • WeissCannon
  • Stringing Machines
  • Tools & Supplies
  • Grips & Accessories
  • Replacement Grips
  • Vibration Dampeners
  • Head & Lead Tape
  • Other Items
  • Tennis Towels
  • Fitness & Therapy
  • Hydration & Nutrition
  • Tennis Books & DVDs
  • Memorabilia
  • Tennis Ball Machines
  • Court Equipment
  • Gifts & Novelty Items
  • School Teams
  • League Teams
  • Pro Player Gear
  • Reviews Reviews
  • Learning Center Learning Center
  • Mental Game
  • Stroke Instruction
  • Selecting a Racquet
  • How to String a Racquet
  • Measuring Grip Size
  • Best Tennis Racquets
  • Best Tennis Shoes
  • Best Tennis Strings
  • Tennis Warehouse University
  • Message Board Message Board
  • Podcast Podcast
  • Specials Clearance
  • Gift Cards Gift Cards
  • Brands Brands
  • Contact Contact
  • Ordering Ordering
  • Tracking Tracking
  • Shipping Shipping
  • Returns Returns
  • International International
  • Careers Careers
  • Privacy Policy
  • Account Login
  • Mailing List Mailing List

Prince Phantom 100 Racquet Review

prince phantom 100x 320 review

  • Spin friendly
  • Comfortable
  • Maneuverable
  • Lacks power on serve

Video Review

Classic feel meets modern aggression in the thin-beamed dagger known as the Prince Phantom 100 . One after another, our playtesters praised this racquet, labeling it an ultra plush and spin-friendly complement to their all-court games. The Prince Port holes and flexible feel guaranteed swift acceleration and a dampened response from all areas of the court. From the baseline, this racquet excelled at generating low-powered control, easy depth and sharp angles. These options carried over to service returns, allowing our playtesters to hit their returns with confidence and purpose. Inside the service line, drop volleys and touch shots were easy to hit. The serve was the only shot that left each playtester wanting slightly more power. However, the above average maneuverability, considerable spin potential and soft, arm-friendly response of the Phantom 100 ultimately impressed our playtesters.

Prince Phantom 100 Racquet Scores

Groundstrokes - score: 85.

Our playtesters found the Prince Phantom 100 to cut through the air and redirect pace with ease. A thin beam and plush feel allowed the testers to tap into their strengths on groundstrokes. Chris harnessed the immense spin and acceleration potential, which granted him a positive and nostalgic experience. He said, "The Phantom 100 proved to be a very fast and spin-friendly racquet from the baseline. I was not sure if it was the thin beam, the weight and balance or a combination of all three, but I just found it very easy to accelerate through contact. On faster swings the racquet made a nice whistling sound that reminded me of when I used the Prestige Classic 600 back in the day. As well as getting good spin, I found pace and depth pretty easy to generate. The stringbed responded better in the upper hoop than the old Prince Tour 100. I was getting a little more pop from the racquet, although I was still a ways away from my Pure Drive Plus (this playtest occurred before Chris' switch to the Yonex EZONE DR 98+). I felt pretty dialed in when it came to control. As with previous Port style racquets, the Phantom offered a very soft and dampened feel. Once I got used to the very soft response of the racquet I found my confidence to be solid, and I started to go for more aggressive targets."

Hannah went through a similar adjustment period, but once she was acclimated she maximized the power and speed the racquet offered from the baseline. She offered, "I like the power I gained on my shots from this racquet, in addition to being able to flatten out my shots a little bit more than average. Once I adjusted to the dampened and muted feel I started to trust this racquet more, and I found that when I swung out and played freely my success from the baseline was maximized. I ran into some trouble at the baseline and lost some control when I was searching for more feel and trying to force extra spin and height on my shots. The flex of the frame is extremely different and fun to hit with, especially from the baseline, and the Phantom 100 becomes an aggressive weapon when it is whipping through the air and utilizing the Port hole technology. Slicing with this racquet was a major highlight. I could really drive through the ball as much as I wanted with a consistent result, and I could experiment with this shot much more than I am used to."

Mark didn't hold back praise when it came to taking aggressive swings with this racquet on groundstrokes. He said, "My first encounter with the Prince Phantom 100 was around a year ago at the Indian Wells tournament, and after just 30 minutes of play I had already determined that I liked this thin-beamed masterpiece quite a bit. My feelings for the Phantom 100 haven't changed in 2017, either. It is an incredible back court racquet. I prefer it with a full bed of a polyester string, which let me bang away from the baseline with absolute confidence and impunity from any threat of arm pain. The thin beam of the Phantom 100 allows for a very aggressive cut on the ball, making it easy for me to alternate between creating both short angles and effective depth on the ball."

Troy's high expectations for this playtest were exceeded during baseline play. He said, "The Port system in the hoop of the frame provided a super plush feel at contact. This racquet felt silky smooth on my groundstrokes no matter how much pace my opponents hit at me. I loved hitting cross-court dipping shots with the 16x18 string pattern because I could generate plenty of topspin to create sharp angles. On slice backhands I enjoyed the soft and plush feel when driving the racquet through the ball. because of the extremely flexible feel and overall low powered response of this Prince Phantom 100, I felt that it could use a bit more mass to help with put-away power. Against big hitters I found this racquet getting pushed around a bit. On my backhand slice a bit more weight in the head of the racquet would have given me a little more easy depth that I typically get with my racquet of choice. With the very dampened feel of this racquet there were times when I took big swings at the ball and I was hoping for a bit more predictability. The lack of feedback forced me to hit to big targets and create more margin for error than I would have liked at times."

prince phantom 100x 320 review

Volleys - Score: 85

On volleys, the Prince Phantom 100 performed to the playtesters' satisfaction, demonstrating the ability to block back pace and administer touch. Mark was quick to point out this racquet's versatile and overall stellar performance at net. He admitted, "I favored this racquet anywhere inside the service court. I knew it would be a useful tool around the net for me because of its mid-11 oz strung weight, but after I got used to its somewhat unique feel, the Phantom 100 began to feel more like a weapon. Volleys off either wing (high, low, fast, or slow) were effectively dealt with, making this one of my favorite racquets to volley with."

"Volleys were easily my favorite shot with this racquet" Hannah echoed. "The control I felt at the net was awesome! It felt like the flex held the ball on my strings longer, and the whippy maneuverability made it easy to get my hands out in front of my body. These elements had me volleying past the service line and hitting targets with complete confidence and ease. The feeling is completely different from volleying with more stable frames with a high stiffness rating. I just had more time, and I was rewarded for my fast reactions with more control instead of an overdose of power."

For Chris , pairing the Prince Phantom 100 with the right string made for an effective and enjoyable tool inside the service line. "I had fun at net with the Phantom 100," he said. "It held up well even when the pace picked up, and I found plenty of stability on my low volleys and half volleys. It was also solid enough to allow me to hold the handle softly for some added feel on drop volleys without having to worry about it twisting in my hands. I liked the response of the stringbed with a co-poly installed because it offered a great blend of control and spin when I knifed my volleys."

Troy praised the plush response and emphasized the advantages of this arm-friendly frame. He noted, "The maneuverability and the plush feel made this a fun racquet to volley with. Once again, this racquet provided a pillow-like response that made me feel confident attacking my volleys. I was never worried about this racquet giving me a jarring response even on off-center contact. Although this racquet has a muted response due to the Port system, the soft-flex allowed me to execute deft touch and drop volleys. Due to the muted feedback from the Port system, I felt more comfortable hitting my volleys to big targets rather than trying to paint the lines. This Prince Phantom 100 lacked the scalpel-like precision that I get from my old Wilson Six.One 95."

Serves - Score: 80

Posting big MPHs on serve wasn't easy for our testers with the Prince Phantom 100 , but they were able to serve successfully by tapping into the racquet's other strengths. Troy's comments on serves revolved around the deadly spin he could produce on various serves, and according to his fellow playtesters, he wasn't alone. Troy said, "The racquet head speed I could generate, along with this racquet's spin-friendly frame shape and string pattern, allowed me to get my serves to jump off the court. Both slice and kick serves were coming off this racquet with a lot of rotation, and that allowed me to create sharp angles. My second serves were landing in with a lot of consistency, but I was looking for some more sting on my first serves. On my flatter first serves I was able to find my targets on a consistent basis, but I was craving a bit more power. No matter how much leg drive I put into my first serves I just wasn't quite getting the power I was hoping for. Compared to hitting first serves with the Wilson Burn 95 Countervail, which is much stiffer and slightly longer in length, I could definitely feel a drop in power with the Prince Phantom 100."

Even though she started off timidly, Hannah also uncovered the Phantom 100's potential to generate spin on her serves. "Serves were an interesting aspect of this playtest," she explained. "The lack of feel on the serve was something that I needed to adjust to, and I never had much success hitting flat serves because of this. However, after realizing that I couldn't rely on feeling the ball off the strings so much, I committed to swinging out more on my kick serve and had really good results. I found consistency, power and force off of my serves and got a lot of free points with this racquet. I just never got the feel that I really wanted."

Chris also took well to the different spins he could generate, but he was left craving more power on his serve. "I served decently with this racquet. However, this was the one shot where I really missed the power of my Pure Drive Plus," he admitted. "I wasn't winning as many easy points when serving, but I was happy with my consistency and targeting. I thought my slice serve out wide had some nice action on it. I also had success hitting slice serves into the body of the returner. I was able to be aggressive on my second serves without losing control, which enabled me to get some good spin."

The specs of the Prince Phantom 100 favored Mark's serve, but he, like Chris, also lost some power on his serves. "After working here for almost ten years, I have realized that I have a range of weight and balance for racquets that seems to fit me best, and this racket is spot on in that regard," he beamed. "Its mid-eleven ounce weight definitely complements my serve in terms of consistency, but the thinner, flexible beam made it harder for me to get my serve speeds above 95 miles per hour."

prince phantom 100x 320 review

Returns - Score: 84

Guided by the swift Prince Phantom 100 , our playtesters' service returns packed plenty of depth, and the potential to nail targets. "Returns met with a shorter swing and a target in mind were really effective with this racquet," Hannah raved. "I could redirect power and get the racquet in place easily, swinging around the ball without any trouble. The only time I hit a weaker return was when I tried to hit higher over the net with more spin. I was definitely forced to lower my trajectory and really go after the return to get a good result."

Chris felt he had great control, so he was hitting his returns with confidence. He said, "I really enjoyed returning with this racquet. I felt like I could swing aggressively whenever I was given even the slightest opportunity to tee off. The Phantom 100 offered enough control for me to aim for the corners with confidence. I liked the amount of spin I could add to the ball off a compact backswing. My slice backhand worked well, and I was able to knife the ball or float it, depending on what I wanted to do."

To Mark's surprise, the Phantom 100 gave him an extra edge on returns. He said, "My return was the one shot where I felt more confident than usual, especially when I was playing doubles. I usually cut under the ball on my return and sneak in toward the net from there, but with Prince's new Phantom 100 I was able to hit through the ball more often. For me, this was the biggest surprise of the playtest and my favorite part of it."

The very soft and plush feel of this racquet allowed Troy to step in and take serves on the rise. He exclaimed, "I loved how I could redirect the server's pace with ease, and the feel on contact was very comfortable. My slice backhand return felt nice and smooth, and I would often follow it into the net. Because I was really trying to take the returns early and use the server's pace to redirect the ball, I would have liked a bit more plow through from this racquet. A bit more weight in the head of this racquet would have really helped me keep my returns deep in my opponent's court. The Prince Phantom 100 did enhanced my two-handed backhand return because of the plush feel on impact. I often will hit my two-handed backhand returns slightly off center, causing a jarring impact on my wrists and arms, but with the Prince Phantom 100 I could attack my backhand returns without worrying about an uncomfortable response."

Overall - Score: 83

Chris- "I liked the control, comfort and spin, and the fact that the Phantom 100 whistles on fast swings!"

Hannah- "A unique and flexy feel makes the Phantom 100 extremely fun to play with! Volleys and slices really stood out with this racquet. It offers excellent touch and gives me what feels like more reaction time and more time on the strings."

Troy- "Extremely plush and comfortable on the arm. From the baseline the Phantom 100 made it easy to generate spin and redirect my opponent's shots."

Mark- "I have enjoyed playing with the last few examples of the Prince Tour 100 frames (the Ozone, Speedport, EXO3 Tour, etc.), and typically an 11.5 oz racquet with a high 329 swingweight is right in my wheelhouse. I did prefer the Phantom 100 when it was strung with a full bed of polyester at a higher than average tension. The string Ports help provide a very plush response at contact. So plush in fact, that an increase from my usual string tension was needed so that I could better feel the ball on the stringbed."

Chris- "A tad down on power for me on serve, and the very soft feel requires some adjustment."

Hannah- "I lost some control from the baseline. It was hard to feel the ball off the strings and sometimes difficult to produce good spin."

Troy- "The muted response from the Port system and very low flex rating had me looking for a bit more feedback and response. Some more weight in the hoop of the Phantom 100 would help with put-away power."

Mark- "My game is more centered around wearing my opponent down, rather than hitting clean winners, so I look for frames that have some put-away power to help me out. I loved how consistently I played with the Phantom 100 , but it was hard to actually end points with it."

Comparing the racquet to others they've tried, our testers said:

Chris- "The Phantom 100 plays a lot like the Prince EXO3 Tour and Tour 100 racquets previously released. For me, the Phantom 100 offered a better response toward the tip of the racquet, and it also cut through the air better. Both of those improvements gave me better access to pace and spin. Nothing else really comes close to offering the dampened response of those types of racquets. The feel took some additional adjustment for me, but once I got used to it I really enjoyed how comfortable it made a full bed of poly play. The closest offering from other brands would be Babolat's old Pure Storm Ltd. That racquet also had a very plush feel and lacked power on serves."

Hannah- "I honestly cannot compare the Phantom 100 to any other racquet I've played with. When I first started playtesting at TW I hit with an early sample of this racquet pretty frequently for a couple of months because it was so fun and so different! The flexy feel, the thinner beam and the Port holes are all new to me and not something I usually gravitate toward, but I really liked how they came together in this racquet."

Troy- "The Prince Phantom 100 , much like some of its predecessors, such as the Prince O3 Tour MP, Ozone Tour MP, EXO3 Tour 100 16x18 and Tour 100 16x18, all have had a distinct feel over the years. The very flexible feel and Port system create some of the most comfortable racquets (non-wood) that I have ever played with. With this being said, I've always felt that the level of feedback from these racquets was lacking. Some other racquets that come to mind when considering the very flexible feel and large sweetspot are the Head Microgel Radical Oversize, the Donnay Pro One Oversize and the ProKennex Kinetic Pro 5G Classic."

Mark- "Unfortunately, thin beamed classics like the Prince Phantom 100 are few and far between these days, but there are at least a couple racquets that are similar. The Wilson Pro Staff 97S and the Prince Textreme Tour 100P are the racquets that are the closest in terms of feel and performance for me at this time."

(Scores are determined by averaging individual play test scores)

Playtester Profiles

Chris: 4.5 all-court player currently using the Yonex EZONE DR 98+. Chris uses a full-western forehand grip, has a fast swing style and hits a one-handed backhand.

Hannah: Open level player with a semi-western forehand and two-handed backhand. She currently plays with the Babolat Pure Strike 16x19 (Project One7).

Troy: 5.0 lefty all-court player with a full Western Forehand and a two-handed backhand. Troy currently plays with a Wilson Six.One 95 18x20.

Mark: 5.0 lefty all-court player with a one-handed backhand. He currently plays with the Wilson Blade SW104 Autograph.

prince phantom 100x 320 review

Review date: August 2017. If you found this review interesting or have further questions or comments please contact us. All content copyright 2017 Tennis Warehouse.

Babolat Pure Strike Markdowns

IMAGES

  1. Prince Phantom 100x 305g tennis racquet , Sports Equipment, Sports & Games, Racket & Ball Sports

    prince phantom 100x 320 review

  2. Prince Phantom 100X 18x20 Tennis Racquet Review 2020 🌟

    prince phantom 100x 320 review

  3. Prince Phantom 100x 305g tennis racquet , Sports Equipment, Sports & Games, Racket & Ball Sports

    prince phantom 100x 320 review

  4. Prince Phantom 100X 305 Racquet Review

    prince phantom 100x 320 review

  5. Prince Phantom 100X Racquet Review

    prince phantom 100x 320 review

  6. Prince Phantom Pro 100P Review

    prince phantom 100x 320 review

VIDEO

  1. Monk vs Little Prince || #clashroyale #youtubeshorts #shorts

  2. NTRN코인이란 무엇일까요

  3. Starboard Phantom race 320

  4. 100x Prince 🔥 #clashroyale #supercell #clash

  5. 【Fukky'sインプレ】プリンス ファントム最速モデル『PHANTOM F1』初打ち!!

  6. PHANTOM OF BARIKAD CREW TALKIN' TO GOOD2GOSTAR IN PORT-AU-PRINCE, HAITI